Food for your stomach and your soul

I made quinoa tonight.  It is the most delicious quinoa I have ever made (this is only the second time I’ve made it in my life, but it’s probably one of the best I’ve ever tasted).  I borrowed a recipe off of Pinterest, but I changed it around a bit to make it my own.  I’m going to give you exact details on how I made it:

Ingredients:

1 cup quinoa (I like the rainbow quinoa from Whole Foods.  It’s cheaper if you buy it from the bulk section)

2 cups Organic Chicken Stock

4 oz Feta Cheese Crumbles

15 oz can Unsalted Black Beans (rinsed and drained)

15 oz can Sweet Corn (rinsed and drained)

1 cup Spinach, chopped

1/2 Red Onion, diced

1/2 Hatch Green Chile, diced

Dressing:

1/2 cup Lime Juice (2 limes)

3 Tablespoons Red Wine Vinegar

1/4 cup Olive Oil

1 tablespoon Cumin

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

Place the quinoa and chicken stock in a rice cooker, turn it on and cook.

While the quinoa is cooking, mix the dressing ingredients together and set aside.

Dice the red onion and hatch green chile.  Sauté in a pan with a tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat, browning just a tad.

In a large bowl, combine the black beans, corn, spinach, and (cooled) sautéed red onions and hatch green chile.

When the quinoa is finished cooking and has cooled down, combine it with the black bean mixture, add dressing, and toss.

Serve in a nice big bowl and dig in!

 

Quinoa-1

 

Quinoa-2

Quinoa-3

Quinoa-4

Quinoa-5

 

Quinoa-6

Quinoa-7

Quinoa-8

 

Quinoa-9

Quinoa-10

Quinoa-11

Quinoa-12

Quinoa-13

 

Quinoa-14

 

Quinoa-15

 

Quinoa-16

Disclaimer:  This makes quite a bit of quinoa.  I suggest sharing it with friends and/or family, or portioning it out and taking it to lunch with you for the next 3 days (that’s my plan).  

And there you have it, folks!  I did a deep cleanse today, so it was really difficult not to chow down on some delicious quinoa (I may have had to try a bite for quality purposes).  However, my deep cleanse days are probably my favorite part of this 30-day system.  Although I don’t eat food on these days (except for delicious green tea infused milk chocolates), I am getting my nutrition from the Deep Cleanse juice I received in my package.  They are not difficult days to survive, and I feel immaculate after them.  

Happy cooking!  ❤

ee649f77e53db636d1aa4d9ea3baee1e

Leave a comment